10/14/2004 10:46 PM ET
Pujols stars in glove story
Umps rule first baseman didn't throw glove at ball
By Rich Draper / MLB.com
ST. LOUIS -- It was a play straight out of Little League.
When Houston's Lance Berkman lined a shot over the head of St. Louis Cardinals first baseman Albert Pujols in the fifth inning of Thursday night's Game 2 of the National League Championship Series at Busch Stadium, the Redbird leaped in an attempt to catch it, and his glove sailed into the air as the ball whizzed safely into right field.
Berkman's RBI single sent Jeff Bagwell to second and scored Craig Biggio, giving the Astros a 3-0 lead.
Houston manager Phil Garner came out of the dugout to question whether Pujols had deliberately thrown his glove at Berkman's line drive. Rule 7.05 (c) states the a base runner is awarded: "Three bases, if a fielder deliberately throws his glove at and touches a fair ball. The ball is in play and the batter may advance to home base at his peril."
Translation: If Pujols violated this rule, Bagwell would have scored and Berkman would have been awarded third base. However, the umpires ruled that the Pujols' glove came off unintentionally as he leaped to make the catch, and it never made contact with the ball.
The Astros were unable to score again in the inning as Jeff Kent popped out and Morgan Ensberg flied to center.
Rich Draper is a reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.