© 2012 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

09/19/2012 9:04 AM EST

Cardinals & Peoria Chiefs agree to new Midwest League affiliation

Teams agree to new four-year P.D.C. through 2016

ST. LOUIS, September 19, 2012 - The St. Louis Cardinals announced today that they have agreed to a new four-year player development contract (P.D.C.) with the Peoria Chiefs of the Midwest League (A).  The Cardinals and Chiefs shared a 10-year affiliation from 1995-2004, including 2002 when the Chiefs won their lone Midwest League Championship.  The Cardinals also had a three-year minor league presence in Peoria, Ill.  from 1954-56.

"We are extremely pleased to have a new four-year affiliation in place with the Chiefs and the Peoria community," said Cardinals' Senior Vice President/General Manager John Mozeliak.  "We know how Peoria and Central Illinois represent a big part of what "Cardinals Nation" is all about and that the Chiefs run a first-class operation that will only enhance our player development efforts."

            "We are excited to be returning to Peoria," stated Cardinals' Farm Director John Vuch.  "The Midwest League has tremendous tradition and we are pleased to remain a part of it."

            The Cardinals currently have three players on their Major League roster who played for Peoria: Yadier Molina (2002),  Jason Motte (2003) and Kyle McClellan (2004).

This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.