To learn about our efforts to improve the accessibility and usability of our website, please visit our Accessibility Information page. Skip to main content

Press Release

01/06/2014 07:07 PM ET
Major League Baseball Players Trust to hold annual meeting, fundraising dinner and golf tournaments in San Diego area Jan. 8-10

NEW YORK -- More than 30 Major League Baseball players will gather in the San Diego area this week to mix a little business with pleasure when the Major League Baseball Players Trust holds its annual board meeting and fundraising events Wednesday-Friday, Jan. 8-10, 2014, at The Lodge at Torrey Pines and Del Mar Country Club.

The Players Trust is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit, created by the players in 1996. Through the Players Trust, Major Leaguers raise awareness and funds for charitable causes around the world and encourage others to get involved in their own communities.

The players will kick things off Wednesday, Jan. 8, at The Lodge at Torrey Pines, with their annual Players Trust meeting, as they gather to review 2013 and plan the nonprofit's 2014 programming and grant-giving activities.

On Thursday, Jan. 9, current big leaguers and supporters of the Trust will be joined by some legendary former players when they tee off at Del Mar Country Club. Following golf on Thursday, the Players Trust will host a fundraising dinner at The Lodge at Torrey Pines featuring the music of urban hip-hop violinist Damien Escobar as well as silent and live auctions.

On Friday, Jan. 10, members of the general public are invited to join the players when they tackle the legendary South Course at Torrey Pines. For a $600 contribution to Players Trust (a portion of which is tax deductible), golfers will enjoy a round of golf with a current or former Major Leaguer, receive an autograph baseball and enjoy a post-golf luncheon on the lawn at The Lodge.

For more information, please contact the Players Trust at (888) 714-0755 or e-mail the Players Trust at

Current and former Major Leaguers scheduled to attend the activities include: Heath Bell, Adrian Beltre, Geoff Blum, Marlon Byrd, Chris Capuano, Royce Clayton, Kevin Correia, Rajai Davis, Chris Dickerson, Jermaine Dye, Tim Federowicz, Steve Finely, Eddie Guardado, Jeremy Guthrie, Aaron Harang, Brett Hayes, Clay Hensley, Trevor Hoffman, David Huff, Paul Janish, Gerald Laird, Kenny Lofton, Mark Loretta, Fred Lynn, Donnie Murphy, Frank Robinson, Reggie Sanders, Tim Stauffer, Drew Stubbs, Mike Sweeney, Steve Trachsel and Kevin Young.