To learn about our efforts to improve the accessibility and usability of our website, please visit our Accessibility Information page. Skip to main content

Press Release

04/06/2015 1:54 PM ET
Giancarlo Stanton to accept Players Choice Award for 2014 NL Outstanding Player
Players Trust contributes $20,000 to international nonprofit Kusewera in his honor

MIAMI -- In an Opening Day, pregame ceremony, Marlins outfielder Giancarlo Stanton will receive a prestigious Players Choice Award as the 2014 NL Outstanding Player. Selected in a secret ballot of all National League players in recognition of his exceptional season, Stanton will receive his Players Choice Award from teammate and MLBPA player representative Steve Cishek.

Last season, Stanton was leading the NL in home runs (37), RBIs (105) and slugging (.555) when he was hit by a pitch on Sept. 11, ending his season prematurely.

In recognition of Stanton's outstanding performance in 2014, the Major League Baseball Players Trust made a $20,000 donation in his honor to the international nonprofit Kusewera, whose mission is to empower and educate children in impoverished countries through active and creative play.

Through the Players Trust, Major Leaguers contribute their time, money and celebrity to call attention to important causes affecting the needy and to help encourage others to get involved in their own communities. 2014 Players Choice Award winners in all categories will designate charities to receive grants totaling $260,000 from the Players Trust. Since 1992, the Players Trust has recognized the outstanding on-field and off-field performances of Players Choice Awards winners by contributing more than $3.8 million to over 240 charities around the world. For additional information, please visit or the Players Trust channel on YouTube at

2014 Players Choice Awards Finalists and Winners (in bold type):

American League:

Outstanding Player: Jose Altuve (Houston), Victor Martinez (Detroit), Mike Trout (LA Angels)
Outstanding Pitcher: Felix Hernandez (Seattle), Corey Kluber (Cleveland), Chris Sale (Chicago White Sox)
Outstanding Rookie: Jose Abreu (Chicago White Sox), Danny Santana (Minnesota), Matt Shoemaker (LA Angels)
Comeback Player: J.D. Martinez (Detroit), Victor Martinez (Detroit), Chris Young (Seattle)

National League:

Outstanding Player: Josh Harrison (Pittsburgh), Clayton Kershaw (LA Dodgers), Giancarlo Stanton (Miami)
Outstanding Pitcher: Johnny Cueto (Cincinnati), Clayton Kershaw (LA Dodgers), Adam Wainwright (St. Louis)
Outstanding Rookie: Jacob deGrom (NY Mets), Billy Hamilton (St. Louis), David Peralta (Arizona)
Comeback Player: Tim Hudson (San Francisco), Casey McGehee (Miami), Edinson Volquez (Pittsburgh)

Either League:

Player of the Year: Clayton Kershaw (LA Dodgers), Giancarlo Stanton (Miami), Mike Trout (LA Angels)
Man of the Year: Clayton Kershaw (LA Dodgers), Adam LaRoche (Washington), Anthony Rizzo (Chicago Cubs)

For more information on the Players Choice Awards, please click here.

For a complete list of prevous winners, please click here.