To learn about our efforts to improve the accessibility and usability of our website, please visit our Accessibility Information page. Skip to main content

Press Release

04/10/2013 11:18 AM ET
Miguel Cabrera to accept Players Choice Awards for Player of the Year, AL Outstanding Player
Players Trust will donate $70,000 to charities of Tigers slugger's choice

In a pregame ceremony prior to Wednesday's game in Detroit, Tigers infielder Miguel Cabrera will receive two prestigious Players Choice Awards as the 2012 Player of the Year and AL Outstanding Player. Teammate and 2011 Player of the Year Justin Verlander will present Cabrera with his awards.

Last season, Cabrera compiled one of the most impressive seasons in Major League Baseball history by becoming the game's first Triple Crown winner since 1967. He led the American League with a .330 batting average, 44 home runs and 139 RBIs. Cabrera's success at the plate helped propel the Tigers to the American League Central division title and the American League pennant.

In recognition of Cabrera's outstanding performance in 2012, the Major League Baseball Players Trust will contribute a total of $70,000 to the charity or charities of his choice.

Through the Players Trust, Major Leaguers contribute their time, money and celebrity to call attention to important causes affecting the needy and to help encourage others to get involved in their own communities. 2012 Players Choice Award winners will designate charities to receive grants totaling $260,000 from the Players Trust. Since 1992, the Players Trust has recognized the outstanding on-field and off-field performances of Players Choice Awards winners by contributing more than $3 million to charities around the world. For additional information, please visit or visit the Players Trust channel on YouTube at

2012 Players Choice Awards finalists (winners in bold):

American League:
Outstanding Player: Adrian Beltre (Texas), Miguel Cabrera (Detroit), Mike Trout (Los Angeles-AL)
Outstanding Pitcher: David Price (Tampa Bay), Chris Sale (Chicago-AL), Jered Weaver (Los Angeles-AL)
Outstanding Rookie: Yoenis Cespedes (Oakland), Yu Darvish (Texas), Mike Trout (Los Angeles-AL)
Comeback Player: Adam Dunn (Chicago-AL), Kendrys Morales (Los Angeles-AL), Alex Rios (Chicago-AL)

National League:
Outstanding Player: Ryan Braun (Milwaukee), Andrew McCutchen (Pittsburgh), Buster Posey (San Francisco)
Outstanding Pitcher: Johnny Cueto (Cincinnati), R.A. Dickey (New York-NL), Gio Gonzalez (Washington)
Outstanding Rookie: Todd Frazier (Cincinnati), Bryce Harper (Washington), Wade Miley (Arizona)
Comeback Player: Adam LaRoche (Washington), Ryan Ludwick (Cincinnati), Buster Posey (San Francisco)

Either League:
Player of the Year: Miguel Cabrera (Detroit), Andrew McCutchen (Pittsburgh), Mike Trout (Los Angeles-AL)
Man of the Year: Chipper Jones (Atlanta), Paul Konerko (Chicago-AL), Michael Young (Texas)