To learn about our efforts to improve the accessibility and usability of our website, please visit our Accessibility Information page. Skip to main content

Press Release

04/28/2009 1:14 PM ET
Major Leaguers honor local student volunteers
Mike Lincoln, Nick Masset and David Weathers recognize student leaders in national program to encourage youth volunteerism

CINCINNATI -- During an on-field ceremony prior to tonight’s game, Cincinnati Reds players Mike Lincoln, Nick Masset and David Weathers will represent all Major Leaguers when they honor 12 high school students serving as Captains of the Cincinnati and Indianapolis Action Teams®, part of the national service-learning program in which Major League players and high school students are inspiring and training the next generation of volunteers. During the 2008-09 school-year, these Action Team Captains raised awareness about the importance of community involvement among other students in their high schools and organized volunteer activities.

Administered by the Major League Baseball Players Trust and Volunteers of America, the Action Team program encourages young people throughout the United States to volunteer in their communities. To date, Action Teams of high school students and Major Leaguers have inspired more than 17,000 high school students across the country to help over 75,000 people in need by volunteering in their communities. An Action Team service-learning curriculum created by the Players Trust in partnership with The Wall Street Journal Classroom Edition teaches valuable community service skills to 700,000 high school students in more than 5,000 classrooms across the country. The Association of Educational Publishers named this innovative service-learning program a finalist for a 2009 Distinguished Achievement Award.

Receiving signed certificates of achievement from the players tonight are Cincinnati Action Team Captains Chris Goins, Zach Keeney, Andy Leisring and Josh Kaine from Elder High School and Megan McDonald, Manteen Ray, April Rider and Carly Hartman from Seton High School. Indianapolis Action Team captains being recognized include Vincent Lowell and Brooke Supan from New Palestine High School and Mercedes Ittenbach and Caleb Stutler from Herron High School. Also, Chris Goins and Brooke Supan each receive a $1,000 college scholarship from the Major League Baseball Players Trust in recognition of their dedication to community service.

Action Teams are working together in Boston, Chicago, Cincinnati, Cleveland, Dallas/Ft. Worth, Denver, Detroit, Houston, Indianapolis, Maui, Minneapolis, Mobile, New York City, Oakland, Philadelphia, Portland (Maine), San Francisco, San Juan (P.R.), Santa Fe, Seattle, Tampa and Washington D.C.. Beginning in September 2009, virtually every high school in America will be able to join the Action Team by participating in a new Internet version of this unique service-learning program. Action Team applications and additional information can be received by sending an e-mail request to