To learn about our efforts to improve the accessibility and usability of our website, please visit our Accessibility Information page. Skip to main content

Press Release

09/04/2009 2:51 PM ET
Fans to help select baseball's Man of the Year

NEW YORK -- Beginning today, fans voting on-line will help select the Major League baseball player whose on-field performance and contributions to his community inspire others to higher levels of achievement. Fan-voting for the Marvin Miller Man of the Year Award will be conducted on, the official website of Major League baseball players, through Sunday, September 13.

The Marvin Miller Man of the Year Award is bestowed annually by Major League players, along with nine other PLAYERS CHOICE AWARDS, to honor the players they believe are the best in the game. Players on each of the 30 Major League teams have nominated one teammate as a candidate for the 2009 Marvin Miller Man of the Year Award.

Fans now may visit to select their favorite among the nominees. Six finalists chosen by the fans will appear on the PLAYERS CHOICE AWARDS ballot when all Major Leaguers vote September 15th & 16th to select the winner.

Michael Young of the Texas Rangers was the recipient of the 2008 Man of the Year Award. Young serves as an ambassador for Wipe Out Kids Cancer, an organization committed to eradicating pediatric cancer by funding innovative research, education and treatment. He is also an active member of the Major League Baseball Players TrustÂ’s Action Team national youth volunteer program. Past winners of the award, named for the legendary baseball union leader, also include Torii Hunter, Albert Pujols, Jim Thome, John Smoltz, Mike Sweeney, Mark McGwire, Sammy Sosa, Eric Davis and Paul Molitor.

The 2009 PLAYERS CHOICE AWARDS also honor the outstanding player, rookie, pitcher, and comeback player in each league, as well as the overall Outstanding Player of the Year. 2009 Players Choice Award winners in all categories will designate charities to receive grants totaling $260,000 from the Players Trust. Since 1992, the Players Trust has recognized the outstanding on-field and off-field performances of Players Choice Awards winners by contributing more than $3.5 million to charities around the world.

The following players were nominated by their teammates for the 2009 Marvin Miller Man of the Year Award: [Visit to learn more about their community involvement.]

Arizona: Dan Haren; Atlanta: Tim Hudson; Baltimore: Nick Markakis; Boston: Mike Lowell; Chicago Cubs: Ted Lilly; Chicago White Sox: Scott Linebrink; Cincinnati: Aaron Harang; Cleveland: Travis Hafner; Colorado: Jeff Francis; Detroit: Curtis Granderson; Florida: Brett Carroll; Houston: LaTroy Hawkins; Kansas City: Mark Teahen; Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim: Torii Hunter; Los Angeles Dodgers: Orlando Hudson; Milwaukee: Mike Cameron; Minnesota: Michael Cuddyer; New York Mets: Carlos Delgado; New York Yankees: Alex Rodriguez; Oakland: Dallas Braden; Philadelphia: Shane Victorino; Pittsburgh: Paul Maholm; San Diego: Adrian Gonzalez; San Francisco: Barry Zito; Seattle: Mark Lowe; St. Louis: Albert Pujols; Tampa Bay: Dan Wheeler; Texas; Eddie Guardado; Toronto: Roy Halladay; Washington: Ryan Zimmerman.