To learn about our efforts to improve the accessibility and usability of our website, please visit our Accessibility Information page. Skip to main content

Press Release

09/16/2013 1:00 PM ET
Fans select six finalists for 2013 Marvin Miller Man of the Year Award
Mariano Rivera, Nick Swisher, Raul Ibanez, Chase Utley, Carlos Beltran and Adrian Gonzalez placed on 2013 Players Choice Awards ballots

NEW YORK -- Thousands of baseball fans participated in an Internet poll on from Sept. 10-15 to determine which six players, one from each division, inspire others to higher levels of achievement by their on-field performances and contributions to their communities. From this list of 30 players, Mariano Rivera (New York Yankees) was tabbed to represent the AL East, Nick Swisher (Cleveland Indians) the AL Central, Raul Ibanez (Seattle Mariners) the AL West, Chase Utley (Philadelphia Phillies) the NL East, Carlos Beltran (St. Louis Cardinals) the NL Central and Adrian Gonzalez (Los Angeles Dodgers) the NL West.

These six players will have their names placed on the 2013 Players Choice Awards ballot to determine this season's Marvin Miller Man of the Year Award winner. The 2013 Players Choice Awards marks the 22nd anniversary of the awards, which began in 1992 with AL and NL Outstanding Players (Dennis Eckersley and Barry Bonds, respectively). Click HERE for a complete history of the Awards.

The 2013 Players Choice Awards also honor the Outstanding Player, Rookie, Pitcher and Comeback Player in each league, as well as the overall Player of the Year. 2012 Players Choice Awards winners in all categories will designated charities to receive grants totaling $260,000 from the Major League Baseball Players Trust. The Players Trust has recognized the outstanding on-field and off-field performances of Players Choice Awards winners by contributing more than $3 million to charities around the world.

2013 Players Choice Awards ballots will be distributed to all Major League players on Tuesday, Sept. 17, when the accounting firm KPMG conducts the league-wide, players-only voting.

Chipper Jones was the recipient of the 2012 Man of the Year Award. Past winners of the award, named for the legendary baseball union leader, also include Curtis Granderson, Torii Hunter, Albert Pujols, Mike Sweeney, Jim Thome, John Smoltz, Mark McGwire, Sammy Sosa, Eric Davis and Paul Molitor.