To learn about our efforts to improve the accessibility and usability of our website, please visit our Accessibility Information page. Skip to main content

Press Release

10/01/2013 1:48 PM ET
Major League Baseball players announce finalists for 2013 Players Choice Awards
Cabrera, Davis, Kershaw finalists for Player of the Year

Major League Baseball players today announced the finalists for their highest honors -- the Players Choice Awards -- in which the players themselves recognize excellence on and off the field. Vying for top honor as 2013 Player of the Year are Miguel Cabrera of the Detroit Tigers, Chris Davis of the Baltimore Orioles and Clayton Kershaw of the Los Angeles Dodgers.

For the third consecutive year, Players Choice Awards winners will be announced exclusively on MLB Network, Monday, Nov. 4, from 8-9 p.m. ET. MLB Network's local channel listings are available at

The Players Choice Awards on MLB Network, presented by Sony, makers of the popular MLB The Show video game franchise, benefits the Major League Baseball Players Trust, the charitable foundation created and run by the players themselves.

Leading the voting for the Marvin Miller Man of the Year award, named in honor of the MLBPA's first executive director and given annually to the player who inspires others through his on-field performances and contributions to his community, are Carlos Beltran of the St. Louis Cardinals, Raúl Ibañez of the Seattle Mariners and Mariano Rivera of the New York Yankees. In 2011 Carlos helped build a $10 million school, located in the municipality of Florida, Puerto Rico. The academy is a fully bilingual high school that strives for athletic and academic excellence. Throughout his career, Raul has been heavily involved in the community and this year he chaired the annual Cystic Fibrosis Mariners Care Golf Tournament for the sixth year. The event raised over $220,000. The Mariano Rivera Foundation provides children from impoverished families with an education that will prepare them for the future. In 2014, the foundation plans to build and equip a "Family Center" in the city of New Rochelle, N.Y.

Players Choice Awards have been presented each year since 1992, when Major Leaguers selected Dennis Eckersley and Barry Bonds as the AL & NL Outstanding Players, respectively. Today, the players annually honor the outstanding player, rookie, pitcher and comeback player in each league, while the Player of the Year and Man of the Year awards bestow top honors without regard to league. Balloting for the 2013 Players Choice Awards was conducted in all Major League clubhouses on Sept. 17, under the supervision of accounting firm KPMG.

2013 Players Choice Award winners in all categories will designate charities to receive grants totaling $260,000 from the Major League Baseball Players Trust. The Players Trust raises funds and attention for issues affecting the needy and promotes community involvement. Since 1992, the Players Trust has recognized the outstanding on-field and off-field performances of Players Choice Awards winners by contributing more than $3 million to charities around the world. For additional information, please visit or visit the Players Trust channel on YouTube.

Majestic Athletic is a proud sponsor of the 2013 Players Choice Awards on MLB Network.

Below please find the complete list of 2013 Players Choice Awards finalists.

2013 Players Choice Awards Finalists:

American League:

Outstanding Player: Miguel Cabrera (Detroit), Chris Davis (Baltimore), Mike Trout (LA Angels)
Outstanding Pitcher: Yu Darvish (Texas), Anibal Sanchez (Detroit), Max Scherzer (Detroit)
Outstanding Rookie: Chris Archer (Tampa Bay), Jose Iglesias (Detroit), Wil Myers (Tampa Bay)
Comeback Player: Scott Kazmir (Cleveland), Victor Martinez (Detroit), Mariano Rivera (NY Yankees)

National League:

Outstanding Player: Paul Goldschmidt (Arizona), Andrew McCutchen (Pittsburgh), Yadier Molina (St. Louis)
Outstanding Pitcher: Jose Fernandez (Miami), Clayton Kershaw (LA Dodgers), Francisco Liriano (Pittsburgh)
Outstanding Rookie: Jose Fernandez (Miami), Shelby Miller (St. Louis), Yasiel Puig (LA Dodgers)
Comeback Player: Marlon Byrd (Pittsburgh), Francisco Liriano (Pittsburgh), Troy Tulowitzki (Colorado)

Either League:

Player of the Year: Miguel Cabrera (Detroit), Chris Davis (Baltimore), Clayton Kershaw (LA Dodgers)
Man of the Year: Carlos Beltran (St. Louis), Raul Ibanez (Seattle), Mariano Rivera (NY Yankees)

For a complete list of prevous winners, please click here.