To learn about our efforts to improve the accessibility and usability of our website, please visit our Accessibility Information page. Skip to main content

Press Release

10/2/2012 4:42 PM ET
Major League baseball players announce finalists for 2012 Players Choice Awards
Cabrera, McCutchen and Trout finalists for Player of the Year

NEW YORK -- Major League baseball players today announced the finalists for their highest honors -- the Players Choice Awards -- in which the players themselves recognize excellence on and off the field. Vying for top honor as 2012 Player of the Year are Miguel Cabrera of the Detroit Tigers, Andrew McCutchen of the Pittsburgh Pirates and standout rookie Mike Trout of the Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim.

For the second consecutive year, Players Choice Award winners will be announced exclusively on MLB Network, Monday, Nov. 5, from 8-9 p.m. ET. MLB Network's local channel listings are available at

The Players Choice Awards program benefits the Major League Baseball Players Trust, the charitable foundation created and run by the players themselves.

Leading the voting for the Marvin Miller Man of the Year award, named in honor of the MLBPA's first executive director and given annually to the player who inspires others through his on-field performances and contributions to his community, are Chipper Jones of the Atlanta Braves, Paul Konerko of the Chicago White Sox, and two-time Man of the Year award winner Michael Young of the Texas Rangers. Touched early in his career by the experience of a young boy with cystic fibrosis, Jones has long been a supporter of the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation. He serves as the chair of the Georgia chapter's 65 Roses Sports Committee and the Bridges to a Cure campaign and hosts children with cystic fibrosis at Turner Field. Konerko and his wife Jennifer have continually supported foster families in the state of Illinois and launched the Bring Me Home campaign through Children's Home and Aid. Winner of the 2008 and 2011 Marvin Miller Man of the Year awards, Young and his wife Cristina launched The Michael Young Family Foundation to improve children's social, educational, physical and mental well-being.

Players Choice Awards have been presented each year since 1992, when Major Leaguers selected Dennis Eckersley and Barry Bonds as the AL & NL Outstanding Players, respectively. Today, the players annually honor the outstanding player, rookie, pitcher and comeback player in each league, while the Player of the Year and Man of the Year awards bestow top honors without regard to league. Balloting for the 2012 Players Choice Awards was conducted in all Major League clubhouses on Sept. 19, under the supervision of accounting firm KPMG.

2012 Players Choice Award winners in all categories will designate charities to receive grants totaling $260,000 from the Major League Baseball Players Trust. The Players Trust raises funds and attention for issues affecting the needy and promotes community involvement. Since 1992, the Players Trust has recognized the outstanding on-field and off-field performances of Players Choice Awards winners by contributing more than $3 million to charities around the world. For additional information, please visit or visit the Players Trust channel on YouTube at

Below please find the complete list of 2012 Players Choice Awards finalists.

American League:

Outstanding Player: Adrian Beltre (Texas), Miguel Cabrera (Detroit), Mike Trout (LA Angels)
Outstanding Pitcher: David Price (Tampa Bay), Chris Sale (Chicago White Sox), Jered Weaver (LA Angels)
Outstanding Rookie: Yoenis Cespedes (Oakland), Yu Darvish (Texas), Mike Trout (LA Angels)
Comeback Player: Adam Dunn (Chicago White Sox), Kendrys Morales (LA Angels), Alex Rios (Chicago White Sox)

National League:

Outstanding Player: Ryan Braun (Milwaukee), Andrew McCutchen (Pittsburgh), Buster Posey (San Francisco)
Outstanding Pitcher: Johnny Cueto (Cincinnati), R.A. Dickey (NY Mets), Gio Gonzalez (Washington)
Outstanding Rookie: Todd Frazier (Cincinnati), Bryce Harper (Washington), Wade Miley (Arizona)
Comeback Player: Adam LaRoche (Washington), Ryan Ludwick (Cincinnati), Buster Posey (San Francisco)

Either league:

Player of Year: Miguel Cabrera (Detroit), Andrew McCutchen (Pittsburgh), Mike Trout (LA Angels)
Man of the Year: Chipper Jones (Atlanta), Paul Konerko (Chicago White Sox), Michael Young (Texas)

View a complete list of previous winners.