To learn about our efforts to improve the accessibility and usability of our website, please visit our Accessibility Information page. Skip to main content

Press Release

10/26/2010 4:41 PM ET
Major League Baseball players recognize top rookie in each league
Detroit's Jackson & World Series-bound Posey honored by peers

NEW YORK, N.Y. -- In a season full of exceptional rookie accomplishments, outfielder Austin Jackson (Detroit Tigers) and catcher Buster Posey (San Francisco Giants) were voted by their peers as tops in Major League Baseball's 2010 freshman class. Today, the Major League Baseball Players Association and ESPN Radio’s Scott Van Pelt announced the winners of the 2010 Players Choice Awards for each league's outstanding rookie during the second of a series of segments to be broadcast exclusively this week on ESPN Radio. The 2010 Players Choice Awards, presented by Majestic Athletic and 2K Sports, benefit the Major League Baseball Players Trust. [See complete awards broadcast schedule below.]

Jackson, 23, was acquired by the Detroit Tigers in a December 2009 trade with the New York Yankees, and the 2009 International League Rookie of the Year quickly made his presence felt in the Motor City. Jackson finished the season leading all Major League rookies in hits (181), runs (103) and stolen bases (27), while finishing second among rookies in total bases (247), doubles (34) and games played (tied with 151).

Posey, 23, was drafted by the World Series-bound San Francisco Giants in the first round (fifth overall) of the 2008 MLB First-Year Player Draft. The catcher helped backstop the Giants’ pitching staff to a Major League-best 3.36 ERA, while batting .305 with 18 homers (tied for fifth among all rookies) and 67 RBI (tied for third among all rookies). He finished second among all rookies in slugging percentage (.505).

The Players Choice Awards annually honor the outstanding player, rookie, pitcher and comeback player in each league, while the Player of the Year and Man of the Year awards bestow top honors without regard to league. Balloting for the Players Choice Awards was conducted in September under the supervision of accounting firm KPMG.

2010 Players Choice Award winners in all categories will designate charities to receive grants totaling $260,000 from the Major League Baseball Players Trust, the charitable foundation created and run by the players themselves. The Players Trust raises funds and attention for issues affecting the needy and promotes community involvement. Since 1992, the Players Trust has recognized the outstanding on-field and off-field performances of Players Choice Awards winners by contributing $3 million to charities around the world. For additional information, please visit or visit the Players Trust channel on YouTube at

Below please find the complete list of 2010 Players Choice Awards finalists as well as the ESPN Radio broadcast schedule for the awards announcements. Go to to find an ESPN Radio station near you or to listen live.

2010 Players Choice Awards finalists (winners in bold, underlined)

American League:

Outstanding Player: Jose Bautista (Toronto), Miguel Cabrera (Detroit), Josh Hamilton (Texas)
Outstanding Pitcher: Felix Hernandez (Seattle), David Price (Tampa Bay), CC Sabathia (NY Yankees)
Outstanding Rookie: Wade Davis (Tampa Bay), Neftali Feliz (Texas), Austin Jackson (Detroit)
Comeback Player: Freddy Garcia (Chicago White Sox), Vladimir Guerrero (Texas), Francisco Liriano (Minnesota)

National League:

Outstanding Player: Carlos Gonzalez (Colorado), Albert Pujols (St. Louis), Joey Votto (Cincinnati)
Outstanding Pitcher: Roy Halladay (Philadelphia), Ubaldo Jimenez (Colorado), Adam Wainwright (St. Louis)
Outstanding Rookie: Jaime Garcia (St. Louis), Jason Heyward (Atlanta), Buster Posey (San Francisco)
Comeback Player: R.A. Dickey (NY Mets), Tim Hudson (Atlanta), Aubrey Huff (San Francisco)

Either league:

Player of Year: Carlos Gonzalez (Colorado), Josh Hamilton (Texas), Joey Votto (Cincinnati)
Man of the Year: Torii Hunter (LA Angels of Anaheim), Brandon Inge (Detroit), Troy Tulowitzki (Colorado)

ESPN Radio broadcast schedule for 2010 Players Choice Awards

Monday, Oct. 25 - AL/NL Comeback Players - Scott Van Pelt (1-4 p.m. ET)
Tuesday, Oct. 26 - AL/NL Outstanding Rookies - Scott Van Pelt (1-4 p.m. ET)
Wednesday, Oct. 27 - NL Outstanding Player - Scott Van Pelt (1-4 p.m. ET)
Wednesday, Oct. 27 - AL Outstanding Player - Doug Gottlieb (4-7 p.m. ET)
Thursday, Oct. 28 - AL/NL Outstanding Pitchers - Mike & Mike (6-10 a.m. ET)
Friday, Oct. 29 - Marvin Miller Man of the Year & Player of the Year - Mike & Mike (6-10 a.m. ET)

The Major League Baseball Players Association ( is the collective bargaining representative for all professional baseball players of the 30 Major League Baseball teams and serves as the exclusive group licensing agent for commercial and licensing activities involving active Major League Baseball players. On behalf of its members, it operates the Players Choice licensing program and Players Choice Awards, which benefit the needy through the Major League Baseball Players Trust, a charitable foundation established and run entirely by Major League baseball players.

About Majestic Athletic
Majestic Athletic is a subsidiary of VF Imagewear. Majestic designs, markets and manufactures athletic team uniforms, performance apparel, outerwear and licensed athletic wear. The company is licensed by the Major League Baseball Players Association and Major League Baseball. Majestic currently holds on-field uniform rights for all 30 Major League Baseball clubs.