To learn about our efforts to improve the accessibility and usability of our website, please visit our Accessibility Information page. Skip to main content

Press Release

10/27/2010 5:49 PM ET
Major League Baseball players recognize American League Outstanding Player
Rangers' Hamilton honored by peers

NEW YORK, N.Y. -- American Leaguers cast votes to determine this season's "best of the best" in the junior circuit, and the 2010 Players Choice Award winner for American League Outstanding Player is Texas Rangers outfielder Josh Hamilton.

On Wednesday afternoon, the Major League Baseball Players Association and ESPN Radio's Doug Gottlieb revealed the winner during the third in a series of daily broadcast segments highlighting the on-field performances and community leadership of Major Leaguers.

The 2010 Players Choice Awards are being broadcast exclusively this week on ESPN Radio and are presented by Majestic Athletic and 2K Sports and benefit the Major League Baseball Players Trust. Colorado Rockies outfielder Carlos Gonzalez was revealed as the National League Outstanding Player earlier this afternoon during ESPN Radio's Scott Van Pelt Show. [See complete Awards broadcast schedule below.]

This season, Hamilton, 29, helped guide the Rangers to the AL West championship by leading all Major Leaguers in batting average (.359) and slugging percentage (.633). Despite missing 29 games, the World Series-bound center fielder finished second among all American Leaguers in on-base percentage (.411), fourth in total bases (328), tied for fifth in homers (32) and extra-base hits (75), and sixth (tie) in hits (186). This is Hamilton's second Players Choice Award, having captured the same award in 2008, and he is a finalist (with Carlos Gonzalez/Colorado Rockies and Joey Votto/Cincinnati Reds) for the 2010 Player of the Year award. Player of the Year will be announced on ESPN Radio's Mike & Mike Show (6-10 a.m.) Friday, Oct. 29.

The Players Choice Awards annually honor the outstanding player, rookie, pitcher and comeback player in each league, while the Player of the Year and Man of the Year awards bestow top honors without regard to league. Balloting for the Players Choice Awards was conducted in September under the supervision of accounting firm KPMG.

2010 Players Choice Award winners in all categories will designate charities to receive grants totaling $260,000 from the Major League Baseball Players Trust, the charitable foundation created and run by the players themselves. The Players Trust raises funds and attention for issues affecting the needy and promotes community involvement. Since 1992, the Players Trust has recognized the outstanding on-field and off-field performances of Players Choice Awards winners by contributing $3 million to charities around the world. For additional information, please visit or visit the Players Trust channel on YouTube at

Below please find the complete list of 2010 Players Choice Awards finalists as well as the ESPN Radio broadcast schedule for the awards announcements. Go to to find an ESPN Radio station near you or to listen live.

2010 Players Choice Awards finalists (winners in bold, underlined)

American League:

Outstanding Player: Jose Bautista (Toronto), Miguel Cabrera (Detroit), Josh Hamilton (Texas)
Outstanding Pitcher: Felix Hernandez (Seattle), David Price (Tampa Bay), CC Sabathia (NY Yankees)
Outstanding Rookie: Wade Davis (Tampa Bay), Neftali Feliz (Texas), Austin Jackson (Detroit)
Comeback Player: Freddy Garcia (Chicago White Sox), Vladimir Guerrero (Texas), Francisco Liriano (Minnesota)

National League:

Outstanding Player: Carlos Gonzalez (Colorado), Albert Pujols (St. Louis), Joey Votto (Cincinnati)
Outstanding Pitcher: Roy Halladay (Philadelphia), Ubaldo Jimenez (Colorado), Adam Wainwright (St. Louis)
Outstanding Rookie: Jaime Garcia (St. Louis), Jason Heyward (Atlanta), Buster Posey (San Francisco)
Comeback Player: R.A. Dickey (NY Mets), Tim Hudson (Atlanta), Aubrey Huff (San Francisco)

Either league:

Player of Year: Carlos Gonzalez (Colorado), Josh Hamilton (Texas), Joey Votto (Cincinnati)
Man of the Year: Torii Hunter (LA Angels of Anaheim), Brandon Inge (Detroit), Troy Tulowitzki (Colorado)

ESPN Radio broadcast schedule for 2010 Players Choice Awards

Monday, Oct. 25 - AL/NL Comeback Players - Scott Van Pelt (1-4 p.m. ET)
Tuesday, Oct. 26 - AL/NL Outstanding Rookies - Scott Van Pelt (1-4 p.m. ET)
Wednesday, Oct. 27 - NL Outstanding Player - Scott Van Pelt (1-4 p.m. ET)
Wednesday, Oct. 27 - AL Outstanding Player - Doug Gottlieb (4-7 p.m. ET)
Thursday, Oct. 28 - AL/NL Outstanding Pitchers - Mike & Mike (6-10 a.m. ET)
Friday, Oct. 29 - Marvin Miller Man of the Year & Player of the Year - Mike & Mike (6-10 a.m. ET)

The Major League Baseball Players Association ( is the collective bargaining representative for all professional baseball players of the 30 Major League Baseball teams and serves as the exclusive group licensing agent for commercial and licensing activities involving active Major League Baseball players. On behalf of its members, it operates the Players Choice licensing program and Players Choice Awards, which benefit the needy through the Major League Baseball Players Trust, a charitable foundation established and run entirely by Major League baseball players.

About Majestic Athletic
Majestic Athletic is a subsidiary of VF Imagewear. Majestic designs, markets and manufactures athletic team uniforms, performance apparel, outerwear and licensed athletic wear. The company is licensed by the Major League Baseball Players Association and Major League Baseball. Majestic currently holds on-field uniform rights for all 30 Major League Baseball clubs.