To learn about our efforts to improve the accessibility and usability of our website, please visit our Accessibility Information page. Skip to main content

Press Release

11/01/2013 10:48 AM ET
Major League Baseball players to announce winners of 2013 Players Choice Awards on
Nov. 4 on MLB Network

NEW YORK -- Winners of the 2013 Players Choice Awards will be announced exclusively on MLB Network, Monday, Nov. 4, from 8-9 p.m. ET during the telecast of The 2013 Players Choice Awards presented by PlayStation. The Players Choice Awards program benefits the Major League Baseball Players Trust.

The 2013 Players Choice Awards presented by PlayStation will be hosted by MLB Network's Fran Charles, Dan Plesac and Heidi Watney. Majestic Atheltic is also a proud sponsor of the Players Choice Awards telecast.

Finalists for Player of the Year are Miguel Cabrera (Detroit Tigers), Chris Davis (Baltimore Orioles) and Clayton Kershaw (Los Angeles Dodgers).

Leading the voting for the Marvin Miller Man of the Year award, given annually to the player who inspires others to higher levels of achievement by his on-field performances and contributions to his community, are Carlos Beltran (St. Louis Cardinals), Raúl Ibañez (Seattle Mariners) and Mariano Rivera (New York Yankees).

Balloting for the 2013 Players Choice Awards was conducted in mid-September under the supervision of accounting firm KPMG. At that time, and for the first time ever, all Major Leaguers were asked to cast a separate ballot for the player they would like to see adorn the next cover of PlayStation's popular video game franchise, MLB The Show. The players' choice for the 2014 cover will also be announced during the telecast.

The complete list of 2013 Players Choice Awards finalists is below.

Players Choice Awards have been presented each year since 1992, when Major Leaguers selected Dennis Eckersley and Barry Bonds as the AL & NL Outstanding Players, respectively. Today, the players annually honor the outstanding player, rookie, pitcher and comeback player in each league, while the Player of the Year and Man of the Year awards bestow top honors without regard to league.

2013 Players Choice Award winners in all categories will designate charities to receive grants totaling $260,000 from the Major League Baseball Players Trust, the charitable foundation created and run by the players themselves. The Players Trust raises funds and attention for issues affecting the needy and promotes community involvement. Since 1992, the Players Trust has recognized the outstanding on-field and off-field performances of Players Choice Awards winners by contributing more than $3 million to charities around the world. For additional information, please visit or visit the Players Trust channel on YouTube.

Visit for local channel listings.

2013 Players Choice Awards Finalists:

American League:

Outstanding Player: Miguel Cabrera (Detroit), Chris Davis (Baltimore), Mike Trout (LA Angels)
Outstanding Pitcher: Yu Darvish (Texas), Anibal Sanchez (Detroit), Max Scherzer (Detroit)
Outstanding Rookie: Chris Archer (Tampa Bay), Jose Iglesias (Detroit), Wil Myers (Tampa Bay)
Comeback Player: Scott Kazmir (Cleveland), Victor Martinez (Detroit), Mariano Rivera (NY Yankees)

National League:

Outstanding Player: Paul Goldschmidt (Arizona), Andrew McCutchen (Pittsburgh), Yadier Molina (St. Louis)
Outstanding Pitcher: Jose Fernandez (Miami), Clayton Kershaw (LA Dodgers), Francisco Liriano (Pittsburgh)
Outstanding Rookie: Jose Fernandez (Miami), Shelby Miller (St. Louis), Yasiel Puig (LA Dodgers)
Comeback Player: Marlon Byrd (Pittsburgh), Francisco Liriano (Pittsburgh), Troy Tulowitzki (Colorado)

Either League:

Player of the Year: Miguel Cabrera (Detroit), Chris Davis (Baltimore), Clayton Kershaw (LA Dodgers)
Man of the Year: Carlos Beltran (St. Louis), Raul Ibanez (Seattle), Mariano Rivera (NY Yankees)


Players: Chris Archer: @ChrisArcher42; Carlos Beltran: @carlosbeltran15; Marlon Byrd: @mjbsr6; Miguel Cabrera: @MiguelCabrera; Yu Darvish: @faridyu; Jose Fernandez: @josefernandez77; Jose Iglesias: @JoseIglesias_SS; Scott Kazmir: @scottkazmir19; Clayton Kershaw: @ClaytonKersh22; Andrew McCutchen: @TheCUTCH22; Shelby Miller: @ShelbyMiller19; Yadier Molina: @Yadimolina04; Wil Myers: @wilmyers; Mariano Rivera: @MarianoRivera; Anibal Sanchez: @AnibalSanchez19; Max Scherzer: @Max_Scherzer; Mike Trout: @Trouty20

Others: MLBPA: @MLB_Players; MLBPA Players Choice: @MLBPAClubhouse; Players Trust: @MLBPlayersTrust; Mlb Network: @MLBNetwork; @Fran_Charles; @HeidiWatney; @Plesac19; Playstation: @PlayStation; Majestic Athletic: @MajesticOnField

For a complete list of prevous winners, please click here.