To learn about our efforts to improve the accessibility and usability of our website, please visit our Accessibility Information page. Skip to main content

Press Release

11/2/2012 7:13 PM ET
MLB players to announce winners of 2012 Players Choice Awards on Nov. 5
Winners of 21st annual edition of the revered awards program to be announced exclusively on MLB Network and presented by 2K Sports

NEW YORK -- Winners of the 2012 Players Choice Awards will be announced exclusively on MLB Network on Monday, Nov. 5, from 8-9 p.m. ET during the broadcast of "The 2012 Players Choice Awards Presented by 2K Sports." The Players Choice Awards program benefits the Major League Baseball Players Trust.

"The 2012 Players Choice Awards Presented by 2K Sports" will be hosted by MLB Network's Greg Amsinger, Dan Plesac and Lauren Shehadi. Majestic Athletic and CyberX are proud sponsors of the Players Choice Awards program.

Finalists for Player of the Year are Miguel Cabrera (Detroit Tigers), Andrew McCutchen (Pittsburgh Pirates) and Mike Trout (LA Angels of Anaheim).

Leading the voting for the Marvin Miller Man of the Year award, given annually to the player who inspires others to higher levels of achievement by his on-field performances and contributions to his community, are Chipper Jones (Atlanta Braves), Paul Konerko (Chicago White Sox) and Michael Young (Texas Rangers).

The complete list of 2012 Players Choice Awards finalists is below.

Players Choice Awards have been presented annually since 1992 when Major Leaguers selected Dennis Eckersley and Barry Bonds as the AL & NL Outstanding Players, respectively. Today, the players annually honor the outstanding player, rookie, pitcher and comeback player in each league, while the Player of the Year and Man of the Year awards bestow top honors without regard to league. Balloting for the 2012 Players Choice Awards was conducted in mid-September under the supervision of accounting firm KPMG.

2012 Players Choice Award winners in all categories will designate charities to receive grants totaling $260,000 from the Major League Baseball Players Trust, the charitable foundation created and run by the players themselves. The Players Trust raises funds and attention for issues affecting the needy and promotes community involvement. Since 1992, the Players Trust has recognized the outstanding on-field and off-field performances of Players Choice Awards winners by contributing more than $3 million to charities around the world. For additional information, please visit or visit the Players Trust channel on YouTube at

Visit to check MLB Network channel availability near you.

2012 Players Choice Awards finalists:

American League

Outstanding Player: Adrian Beltre (Texas), Miguel Cabrera (Detroit), Mike Trout (LA Angels)
Outstanding Pitcher: David Price (Tampa Bay), Chris Sale (Chicago White Sox), Jered Weaver (LA Angels)
Outstanding Rookie: Yoenis Cespedes (Oakland), Yu Darvish (Texas), Mike Trout (LA Angels)
Comeback Player: Adam Dunn (Chicago White Sox), Kendrys Morales (LA Angels), Alex Rios (Chicago White Sox)

National League

Outstanding Player: Ryan Braun (Milwaukee), Andrew McCutchen (Pittsburgh), Buster Posey (San Francisco)
Outstanding Pitcher: Johnny Cueto (Cincinnati), R.A. Dickey (NY Mets), Gio Gonzalez (Washington)
Outstanding Rookie: Todd Frazier (Cincinnati), Bryce Harper (Washington), Wade Miley (Arizona)
Comeback Player: Adam LaRoche (Washington), Ryan Ludwick (Cincinnati), Buster Posey (San Francisco)

Either league

Player of Year: Miguel Cabrera (Detroit), Andrew McCutchen (Pittsburgh), Mike Trout (LA Angels)
Man of the Year: Chipper Jones (Atlanta), Paul Konerko (Chicago White Sox), Michael Young (Texas)

For complete list of previous winners, please visit