To learn about our efforts to improve the accessibility and usability of our website, please visit our Accessibility Information page. Skip to main content

Press Release

11/04/2013 9:48 PM ET
Major League Baseball players announce 2013 Players Choice Awards winners
Cabrera captures Player of the Year and AL Outstanding Player; Rivera named Marvin Miller Man of the Year and AL Comeback Player

NEW YORK -- Major League Baseball players this evening announced the winners of their highest honors -- the Players Choice Awards -- in which the players themselves recognize their peers' most outstanding and inspiring performances. The winners were announced on MLB Network during an exclusive telecast of the 2013 Players Choice Awards Presented by PlayStation and benefiting the Major League Baseball Players Trust.

For the second consecutive year, All-Star third baseman Miguel Cabrera of the Detroit Tigers was chosen by his peers as the Player of the Year and American League Outstanding Player. Once again, Cabrera compiled one of the most impressive seasons in Major League Baseball history by leading the American League in batting average and finishing second to Chris Davis of the Orioles in home runs and RBIs. Cabrera batted .348 with 44 home runs and 137 RBIs, and his success at the plate helped propel the Detroit Tigers to the American League Central Division title.

Recently retired All-Star pitcher Mariano Rivera of the New York Yankees was recognized for his outstanding character and charitable work by receiving the 2013 Marvin Miller Man of the Year Award as well as American League Comeback Player. Named after the founding executive director of the Major League Baseball Players Association, the Man of the Year Award honors the player whose excellence on and off the field most inspires others to higher levels of achievement. The 43-year-old legendary reliever finished the 2013 season with 44 saves, a 2.11 ERA and 54 strikeouts after being limited to just nine games in 2012 because of an injured right knee. In addition to his contributions on the diamond, Rivera has had a remarkable impact off the field. Through the work of the Mariano Rivera Foundation, he lends his support to children from impoverished families by providing them with an education that will prepare them for the future. The organization's main goal is sending young people to college; however, in the last few years, the Foundation has developed programs for elementary school age children. The Foundation is currently renovating a "Family Center" in the city of New Rochelle, N.Y.

For the second year in a row, standout center fielder Andrew McCutchen of the Pittsburgh Pirates was named National League Outstanding Player. McCutchen's accomplishment can be attributed to his success in all phases of the game. At the plate, he attained an impressive .317 batting average, with 84 RBIs, 185 hits, 21 home runs and a .404 OBP.

The American League Outstanding Pitcher is Detroit Tigers All-Star Max Scherzer. During the 2013 season, Scherzer led all Major League pitchers with 21 wins and a .875 winning percentage. Along the way, he picked up 240 strikeouts and posted a 2.90 ERA.

Los Angeles Dodgers All-Star Clayton Kershaw is the recipient of this year's National League Outstanding Pitcher Award. The left-hander finished with a 16-9 record and a Major League-leading 1.83 ERA. He tallied a total of 232 strikeouts, ranking third in Majors, and ranked ninth in wins. Kershaw's success on the hill helped launch the Dodgers to a stellar postseason run.

Tampa Bay Rays outfielder Wil Myers was named American League Outstanding Rookie by posting a .293 batting average with 13 home runs and 53 RBIs, while the National League Outstanding Rookie is Miami Marlins pitcher Jose Fernandez. In Fernandez's first year with the Marlins, he managed to establish himself as one of the brightest young stars on the ball club. The Santa Clara, Cuba, product finished with a 12-6 record, a 2.19 ERA and 187 strikeouts, the highest among rookie pitchers.

Francisco Liriano of the Pittsburgh Pirates was named the National League Comeback Player, after winning a career-high 16 games against just eight losses to go along with an impressive 3.02 ERA. The 29 year-old All-Star pitcher's performance helped keep the up-and-coming Pirates in contention the whole season.

Balloting for the Players Choice Awards was conducted in September under the supervision of accounting firm KPMG.

2013 Players Choice Award winners in all categories will designate charities to receive grants totaling $260,000 ($20,000 to each League award winner and $50,000 to Player of the Year and Man of the Year Award winners) from the Major League Baseball Players Trust, the charitable foundation created and run by the players themselves. The Players Trust raises funds and attention for issues affecting the needy and promotes community involvement. Since 1992, the Players Trust has recognized the outstanding on-field and off-field performances of Players Choice Awards winners by contributing more than $3 million to charities around the world. For additional information, please visit or visit the Players Trust channel on YouTube at

2013 Players Choice Awards Finalists (winners in bold):

American League:

Outstanding Player: Miguel Cabrera (Detroit), Chris Davis (Baltimore), Mike Trout (LA Angels)
Outstanding Pitcher: Yu Darvish (Texas), Anibal Sanchez (Detroit), Max Scherzer (Detroit)
Outstanding Rookie: Chris Archer (Tampa Bay), Jose Iglesias (Detroit), Wil Myers (Tampa Bay)
Comeback Player: Scott Kazmir (Cleveland), Victor Martinez (Detroit), Mariano Rivera (NY Yankees)

National League:

Outstanding Player: Paul Goldschmidt (Arizona), Andrew McCutchen (Pittsburgh), Yadier Molina (St. Louis)
Outstanding Pitcher: Jose Fernandez (Miami), Clayton Kershaw (LA Dodgers), Francisco Liriano (Pittsburgh)
Outstanding Rookie: Jose Fernandez (Miami), Shelby Miller (St. Louis), Yasiel Puig (LA Dodgers)
Comeback Player: Marlon Byrd (Pittsburgh), Francisco Liriano (Pittsburgh), Troy Tulowitzki (Colorado)

Either League:

Player of the Year: Miguel Cabrera (Detroit), Chris Davis (Baltimore), Clayton Kershaw (LA Dodgers)
Man of the Year: Carlos Beltran (St. Louis), Raul Ibanez (Seattle), Mariano Rivera (NY Yankees)


Players: Chris Archer: @ChrisArcher42; Carlos Beltran: @carlosbeltran15; Marlon Byrd: @mjbsr6; Miguel Cabrera: @MiguelCabrera; Yu Darvish: @faridyu; Jose Fernandez: @josefernandez77; Jose Iglesias: @JoseIglesias_SS; Scott Kazmir: @scottkazmir19; Clayton Kershaw: @ClaytonKersh22; Andrew McCutchen: @TheCUTCH22; Shelby Miller: @ShelbyMiller19; Yadier Molina: @Yadimolina04; Wil Myers: @wilmyers; Mariano Rivera: @MarianoRivera; Anibal Sanchez: @AnibalSanchez19; Max Scherzer: @Max_Scherzer; Mike Trout: @Trouty20

Others: MLBPA: @MLB_Players; MLBPA Players Choice: @MLBPAClubhouse; Players Trust: @MLBPlayersTrust; Mlb Network: @MLBNetwork; @Fran_Charles; @HeidiWatney; @Plesac19; Playstation: @PlayStation; Majestic Athletic: @MajesticOnField

For a complete list of prevous winners, please click here.