To learn about our efforts to improve the accessibility and usability of our website, please visit our Accessibility Information page. Skip to main content

Press Release

11/06/2015 1:28 PM ET
MLB players to announce winners of 2015 Players Choice Awards on Nov. 9 on MLB Network

NEW YORK -- Major League Baseball players will announce the winners of their highest honors -- the Players Choice Awards -- exclusively on MLB Network, this coming Monday, Nov. 9, from 8-9 p.m. ET. Vying for top honor as 2015 Player of the Year are Josh Donaldson of the Toronto Blue Jays, Zack Greinke of the Los Angeles Dodgers and Bryce Harper of the Washington Nationals.

The Players Choice Awards on MLB Network, presented by MLB The Show, will be hosted by MLB Network's Fran Charles, Mike Lowell and Sam Ryan. MLB Network exclusively televised the Players Choice Awards since 2011. MLB Network's local channel listings are available at

The MLBPA's Players Choice Awards program benefits the Major League Baseball Players Trust, the charitable foundation created and run by the players themselves. 2015 Players Choice Award winners in all categories will designate charities to receive grants totaling $260,000 from the Players Trust. (Note: The eight league winners receive $20,000 grants each and the two overall winners receive $50,000 grants each.)

Leading the voting for the Marvin Miller Man of the Year award, named in honor of the MLBPA's first executive director and given annually to the player who inspires others to higher levels of achievement by his on-field performances and contributions to his community, are Dee Gordon of the Miami Marlins, Adam Jones of the Baltimore Orioles and David Robertson of the Chicago White Sox. While with the Dodgers, Gordon assisted with the LA Fund for Public Education's School Fuel program to provide breakfast for more than 400,000 students in the Los Angeles Unified School District. In the offseason, Gordon participated in a Fitbit Celebrity Challenge to raise awareness and money for cardiovascular health. Earlier this season, Jones co-hosted a clinic for inner-city youth in West Baltimore following the unrest the city experienced in the spring. Jones has also participated in events to benefit the YMCA of Central Maryland, the Boys and Girls Club of Baltimore and Reviving Baseball in the Inner Cities. Robertson, along with his wife, Erin, founded High Socks for Hope after tornadoes devastated his hometown of Tuscaloosa, Alabama, in 2011. The foundation's mission is to lend support to charities and organizations by helping those affected by tragedies and to provide humanitarian services for individuals in need.

Players Choice Awards have been presented each year since 1992, when Major Leaguers selected Dennis Eckersley and Barry Bonds as the AL & NL Outstanding Players, respectively. Today, the players annually honor the outstanding player, rookie, pitcher and comeback player in each league, while the Player of the Year and Man of the Year awards bestow top honors without regard to league. Balloting for the 2015 Players Choice Awards was conducted in all Major League clubhouses on Sept. 16, under the supervision of accounting firm KPMG.

The Players Trust raises funds and attention for issues affecting the needy and promotes community involvement. The Players Trust has recognized the outstanding on-field and off-field performances of Players Choice Awards winners by contributing more than $4 million to charities around the world. For additional information, please visit

Majestic Athletic, a proud sponsor of the 2015 Players Choice Awards on MLB Network, will be presenting its first-ever "Always Game" award during Monday's broadcast. Finalists for the "Always Game" award, given to the player who -- game in and game out -- constantly exhibits grit, tenacity, perseverance and hustle all for the benefit of his teammates and fans, are Jose Altuve of the Houston Astros, Donaldson, and Gordon. Altuve, Donaldson and Gordon were chosen as finalists by the players from a group of nominees originally selected by Majestic Athletic and a panel of baseball experts.

Below please find the complete list of 2015 Players Choice Awards finalists.

2015 Players Choice Awards Finalists:

American League:

Outstanding Player: Nelson Cruz (Seattle), Josh Donaldson (Toronto), Mike Trout (LA Angels)
Outstanding Pitcher: Sonny Gray (Oakland), Dallas Keuchel (Houston), David Price (Toronto)
Outstanding Rookie: Carlos Correa (Houston), Francisco Lindor (Cleveland), Miguel Sano (Minnesota)
Comeback Player: Prince Fielder (Texas), Kendrys Morales (Kansas City), Alex Rodriguez (NY Yankees)

National League:

Outstanding Player: Nolan Arenado (Colorado), Paul Goldschmidt (Arizona), Bryce Harper (Washington)
Outstanding Pitcher: Jake Arrieta (Chicago Cubs), Zack Greinke (LA Dodgers), Clayton Kershaw (LA Dodgers)
Outstanding Rookie: Kris Bryant (Chicago Cubs), Matt Duffy (San Francisco), Jung Ho Kang (Pittsburgh)
Comeback Player: Carlos Gonzalez (Colorado), Matt Harvey (NY Mets), Joey Votto (Cincinnati)

Either League:

Player of the Year: Josh Donaldson (Toronto), Zack Greinke (LA Dodgers), Bryce Harper (Washington)
Man of the Year: Dee Gordon (Miami), Adam Jones (Baltimore), David Robertson (Chicago White Sox)

For a complete list of prevous winners, please click here.